Mr Alexander Erwin

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Alec is a former Deputy Minister of Finance (1994 – 1996), Minister of Trade and Industry (1996 – 2004), Minister of Public Enterprises (2004 – 2008). He has also been President of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (1996 – 2000).

Alec was previously General Secretary of the Federation of South African Trade Unions (1979 – 1983) and the Education Officer for the Congress of South African Trade Unions (1986 – 1988). He was a member of the African National Congress National Executive from 1994 to 2007. Alec has an Honours degree in Economics from the University of Natal where he was a lecturer in the Economics Department.

He has an Honorary Doctorate from the University of KwaZulu-Natal and is currently an Honorary Professor at the University of the Western Cape. He currently also sits on the Honorary International Investment Council of President Jonathan in Nigeria and on the Togo Presidential Investment Advisory Council.

He has served on two WTO Disputes Settlement Panels, chairing the one Panel. The panels have dealt with the link between feed in tariffs and local content in the Ontario electricity system and plain packaging measures for cigarettes in Australia. He has also served as an advisor for the United Nations Industrial Development Organisation.

M. Alexander ERWIN

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Alec est un ancien vice-ministre des finances (1994 – 1996), ministre du commerce et de l’industrie (1996-2004), ministre des entreprises publiques (2004-2008). Il a également été président de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (1996-2000).

Alec était auparavant secrétaire général de la Fédération des syndicats sud-africains (1979-1983) et responsable de l’éducation au Congrès des syndicats sud-africains (1986-1988). Il a été membre de l’exécutif national du Congrès national africain de 1994 à 2007. Alec est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé en économie de l’Université du Natal, où il a été chargé de cours au département d’économie.

Il est titulaire d’un doctorat honorifique de l’Université du KwaZulu-Natal et est actuellement professeur honoraire à l’Université du Western Cape. Il siège actuellement au Conseil honoraire d’investissement international du président Jonathan au Nigeria et au Conseil consultatif présidentiel sur l’investissement au Togo.

Il a siégé à deux groupes spéciaux de règlement des différends de l’OMC. Les panels ont traité du lien entre les tarifs et le contenu local dans le système d’électricité de l’Ontario et des mesures d’emballage neutre pour les cigarettes en Australie. Il a également été conseiller pour l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour le développement industriel.